Novgorod temple rings part 3.

Since I was entering the Novgorod Slovene temple rings I had made in An Tir’s Arts and Sciences Championship, I decided to make another pair, either as part of the entry or to be able to wear some while I presented.  These turned out to be a bigger diameter with smaller flanges, and I ended up wearing these as swapping them out would have meant swapping pendants also. My original silver set were the entry, as planned. 

I used the last of the mostly hand rolled fine silver wire, and drew it down closer to the size I wanted. The drawplate I was using didn’t have the right size, so I twisted it and rolled it to get it the last little bit smaller. 

Drawplate

Drawplates have been found in both Russian and Norse contexts. 

As before I flattened and then expanded the flanges. This time I didn’t go quite far enough.  

First and second rounds of shield/flange expansion.

Next the wires were bent into rings. 

Bent into rings

Finally I cut the wire end on one end of the rings off and punched the decoration. 

Decoration done

I used a dot/ cross scheme with chevrons at each end, similar to this extant ring. 

Two 11thc examples. From Tomsinskii
Temple rings found in urban Novgorod. From Sedova
Finished temple rings
 

Final Documentation:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Hs2WB1m1GjjNkVBHpJpoUAwW6R6uIT1kXxuwdt5o1tI

Part 1

https://kargashina.wordpress.com/2016/10/02/novgorod-style-temple-rings/

Part 2

https://kargashina.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/pendants-for-novgorod-temple-rings/

Sources:

Newbury, Brian D., and Michael R. Notis. “The History and Evolution of Wiredrawing Techniques.” Jom 56.2 (2004): 33-37

Sedova, M. V. I︠U︡velirnye Izdelii︠a︡ Drevnego Novgoroda: X-XV Vv. Moskva: Izd-vo “Nauka”, 1981.

Tomsinskii, S. V. Drevnaia Rus. Saint Petersburg: Mvou Irmumaz, 2007. 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

