Temple rings with dangles from Weismain, the mockup. 


Ever since I first saw these temple rings on Pinterest, I knew I had to make them. Some research and image searching led me to the Landschaftsmuseum Obermain auf der Plassenburg ob Kulmbach online. 

Found in Weismain, Bavaria, in grave 53, and dated to the 9th century, they have a distinctive framework echoed in a few other, less complete finds. (Hannig) Two pairs were found, one more complete than the other. (Slawische Schläfenringe, West Slavs in Archaeology )

Finds from Weismain, Grave 53
Temple rings from Northern Bavaria, Weismain is 16. Source: Hannig
Source: Landschaftsmuseum Obermain auf der Plassenburg ob Kulmbach
Source: Landschaftsmuseum Obermain auf der Plassenburg ob Kulmbach

My process: 

These are made of craft wire and disposable pie plates; I wanted to work out the construction and size before using silver. 

It’s hard to tell exactly how big these are. I made them before I found any info, but I have since seen that Hannig’s caption states that the images are 1:2 scale. Based on that, I’d expect these to be about 2″x4″. I’ve requested what I believe is the original publication of the Weismain excavation, and I hope to know for sure soon. My mock ups turned out at about 2″x4.5″, so if 2″x4″ turns out to be correct, shorter chains and significantly smaller lozenges will get me to the right size. 

I used two sizes of wire, heavier for the frame, and lighter for the chains and twisted wrapping wire. I suspect the wrapping wire in the originals is a thin strip that has been twisted, rather than the two wire twist I’ve used here. 

Frame with chains added.

 I regret I hadn’t taken previous progress photos. 

I cut the lozenges from a pie plate
Holes punched
 

Since this is very soft thin metal, I used an awl for the holes and scoring. 

Centerline scored.
Stamped decoration added.

I used a small punch, lightly, for the stamping. 

Adding lozenges
 I attached the lozenges with the same wire as was used for the chains. 

Assembled.
With gravity.
These are very light and tangle easily in a way that they would not, if made of silver. Since that was the original metal, making a silver pair at accurate size is the next step. 

Sources:

“Slawische Schläfenringe.” Slawische Schläfenringe. Web. 08 Dec. 2016.<http://www.landschaftsmuseum.de/Seiten/Lexikon/SR-slaw.htm&gt;

West Slavs in Archaeology. Web. 05 May. 2017. <http://west-slavs.tumblr.com&gt;

Beaton, Peter. Temple Rings in Rus. Web. 27 Aug. 2016.<http://members.ozemail.com.au/~chrisandpeter/trmain/tr1main.html&gt;.

Hannig, Rita. “S-Schleifenringe in Frühmittelalterlichen Gräberfeldern Nordostbayerns.” Aspekte Der Archäologie Des Mittelalters Und Der Neuzeit: Festschrift Für Walter Sage. By Ingolf Ericsson, Hans Losert, and Walter Sage. Bonn: R. Habelt, 2003. 174-85. Print.

Leave a Reply

